top of page
  • travelrambles

Living in Taipei, 2009

Updated: Jan 7, 2021

Another reflective post from 2021 re: 2009. My semester abroad was finally happening. Although I was slated to attend the Fall 2008 semester, I deferred so that I can participate with my sister (who also decided to apply). She learned from my past mistake and applied for the PROPER school (that is, NTU).


Off we went! The Wong Sisters conquering Taipei … now, no longer Wong Sisters but rather the LooLees ;)


Our semester was from January to April, I believe. We arrived a little earlier and were able to move into my sister’s apartment (private/new/clean) in very central Gongguan area. We spent the first few days getting acclimatized to our new surroundings. I will never forget the sinking feeling of being so lost, confused and scared.


Even trying to take the bus from 1 area to the other was daunting. I'd rehearse the Chinese words over and over again in my mind. The fear of not being understood or worse, laughed at, was paralyzing. However, I'm so happy Taipei is SUCH a friendly city. Any effort is appreciated and busy bus drivers were always so encouraging.


Step 1: Clean the sister's new apartment (private/brand new)


Step 2: Quick trip to Japan before the semester began / I was allowed to check-in to my dorm


Step 3: Repeat Step 1 but for Sarah's dorm (right?)



Upon our return from Japan, I got the green light to move into my dorm at NCCU. My lovely older sister assisted with the relocation of my effects to my new home and left me there upon this sight:




While my sister got a brand new private apartment, I got a FREE but disgusting, bug-filled, zero privacy accommodation.


Looking back, I am still very proud that I lived in “these conditions” (don’t I sound like a member of the 1%). I was very motivated by the FREE price tag. However, these conditions were less than ideal for a North American gal. To illustrate:

  • First night in the new room (sans roommate), I was greeted in the morning with a face filled with bug bites. This is already after a ridiculous amount of effort cleaning throughout the night.

  • Waiting in line for the 1 north american style toilet (no squatters for this girl, please)

  • Perfecting the EXPRESS shower as each day was greeted with a new insect infestation. Unless you enjoy showering next to a family of spiders, you get in & out pretty quickly.

  • Brushing your teeth / doing laundry with cockroaches

Lodging aside, everything about my semester abroad was GREAT:

  1. Great food (once I was able to differentiate the word sausage vs intestine)

  2. Great people (locals and fellow cohorts)

  3. Great sights (Taiwan is so underrated)

  4. Great grades (somehow got As in every class despite DEFINITELY failing most of my course work)

Memories to cherish:

  • Weekend trips exploring great parts of the island (Tainan, Kenting, Hualien, Penghu, Yeliu, Jiu Fen, Lu Dao, Alishan)

  • Balancing school, chinese tutoring, shopping, eating and drinking..lots of drinking

  • Failing my chinese proficiency entrance exam and getting slotted in Level 1 with a gent from Czech, 2 from Pakistan and another from somewhere else. After 2 classes, my pride got the best of me and I quit. This CHINESE girl was not going to stay in this Level 1 class.

  • Weekly chinese tutoring comprising of me reading menus with my tutor. It paid huge dividends.

  • Lifetime friends I would still love to visit even though I haven’t seen/talked to in years.

I’ve since been back to Taipei many, many times. Although my Chinese has disappeared, Taipei will always feel like a 2nd home.

12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page