top of page
  • travelrambles

Bangkok, Thailand 2012

Updated: Jan 6, 2021

It might be because I was scared from all the horror stories but my trip to Bangkok was amazing and just left me begging for another visit. From the amazing temples, dodging scam after scam, negotiating with tuktuks, eating the delicious food to venturing outside the city to visit the floating market and play with the animals, Bangkok has it all. This colourful city must not be missed - just stay smart ;)

Bangkok (3 days)

ETA: September 28 1105

ETD: October 1 1000


Aetas Hotel

49 Phloenchit Road Soi Ruamrudee Lumpini Pathumwan, 10330 Bangkok

Recommended by a local friend I met from Taiwan. Very nice hotel but a little far from everything.


Highlights:

- Thai massages (kind of scary)

- Temples, temples, temples (no matter how many documentaries you watch, a scam unfolding in real time is always so eye opening. I almost fell for it on countless occasions despite watching/reading so many warnings)

- Ladyboy show (Calypso) ~ 900TB each (not the sketchy one)


Tour with Tong: Sept 30

  • Tour with Tong

  • Floating Market, Tiger Temple, Elephant bathing

  • ~ 12 hour day

  • pick up at 7AM

  • Transportation + 10 hour tour guide = 5000 baht

  • 2 hour EST overtime (at 300 baht per hour) = 600 baht

  • Floating Market = 400 baht per boat

  • Tiger Temple = 600 baht per person, feed tiger additional 1000 baht per person

  • Elephant bath = 700 baht per person

  • EST Cost = 10,600

At the time, it was very difficult to make a booking with Tong. She was highly recommended. We were lucky to book with her! I imagine things are not as complex now, in comparison to 2012, but we are still glad we booked with her.


Looking back, I can see alot of the things we did were questionable. While we tried to seek more ethical elephant encounters, I realize I didn't do all my research and am not fully confident on the legitimacy of the group we visited. As for the Tiger temple, I'm still conflicted by it all (but had to try it). Live and learn! Do your research beforehand.


11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page