top of page
  • travelrambles

Dubrovnik, Croatia

Dubrovnik had always been HUGE on my bucket list. Ideally, island hopping between the little towns. But whenever I went to Europe in 2011-2015, visiting Croatia always seemed a little troublesome in terms of getting to/from & around. I could never pair it with my grittiness without a huge inconvenience (or time wasted).


So, when we found a good deal with Celebrity Cruise that paired Italy with Dubrovnik, I was sold. Two days in the city!


Overall, I was a tad disappointed with Dubrovnik. I blame the following:

- we only visited Dubrovnik and not the neighbouring islands like Split

- the crowds were ridiculous. I blame the hype from Game of Thrones

- the city was very expensive and definitely felt like a tourist trap (again, blaming GoT here)


Nonetheless, I was still happy to finally visit a place I've longed to see for so many years. We spent the first day exploring and the second day doing a kayaking trip. The latter turned out to be a bit of a disaster. My husband and I soon learned we will never share a kayak again (much better off going solo). Don't worry, 4.5 years later we are still happily married despite said discovery.




Next time: I've heard amazing things about booking a catamaran for a few days and sailing around the area. THAT will be my next visit to Croatia ;) One day!

15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page