top of page
  • travelrambles

Road Trip through Tuscany, 2016

Next stop on our honeymoon cruise throughout Italy was to Rome (that is, Civitavecchia). The husband and I had both already visited Rome previously (and were not big fans). I do think I need to give the city another try but I'm still suffering PTSD since my last visit in 2011. Further, the train from Civitavecchia to Rome was a few hours and just didn't seem worth the effort.


So, we asked the Cruise (or moreso informed them) that we would be disembarking and would meet the ship again at Pisa. It turned out to be a little more troublesome than anticipated but at the end of the day, they approved.


We rented a car near Civitavecchia and off we went! The ABSOLUTE best decision ever. No itinerary, no big plans. Just driving through the magical rolling hills of Tuscany. Visiting random castles along the way, trying to check out wineries (very different in Italy in comparison to our local wineries in the Okanagan). We stayed the night in Siena (a rather large town) with some great dinner and great sights.


On the way back to our ship, we stopped in Florence (dropped off the car) and explored the city. I had previously been to Florence in 2012 and it was (and still is) among my absolute favourite cities. The charm was slightly different in 2016 in comparison to 2012 but i was still able to bring my new husband to some of my favourite spots.


After watching the sunset at Piazzale Michelangelo, off we went via train to Pisa. Quickly showed the husband the leaning tower (literally 10 minutes) and raced back to meet our boat.


Tuscany, we will definitely be back!

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page